Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline:
    27 May 2015
  • Abstract submission deadline (poster only):
    4 August 2015
  • Early registration deadline:
    4 August 2015
  • Online accommodation booking deadline:
    10 August 2015
  • Registration deadline:
    1 September 2015


Invited speakers

Introduction to the invited speakers at this event.


Dr. Lorna Dougan, University of Leeds, UK

Title: Single molecule studies of proteins from extremophile organisms

Lorna Dougan is an Associate Professor in the Molecular and Nanoscale Physics group in the School of Physics and Astronomy and leads a European Research Council Starting Grant Fellowship. Before joining the University of Leeds in 2009, Lorna held a postdoctoral researcher position in the Biological Sciences department at Columbia University in New York. Lorna is a physicist by training and completed both her MPhys and PhD at the University of Edinburgh. During this time she held a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship. More recently she was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry MacroGroup UK Young Researchers Medal in 2013 and the Medical Research Council and Royal Society Suffrage Science Award in 2015. Lorna's research interests span biophysics, liquid structure, extreme conditions and (bottom-up) synthetic biology. She is developing single molecule mechanical manipulation techniques to explore the mechanical properties of biological molecules, as well as utilising neutron diffraction methods to examine the structural properties of liquids.


Dr. Ralf Everaers, ENS de Lyon, France

Title: Topologically constrained polymers: From rubber elasticity to chromosome structure


Professor Kohzo Ito, University of Tokyo, Japan

Title: Slide-ring materials with movable cross-links and entropy of rings

Kohzo Ito received his B. E, M. E. and Ph. D. degrees in applied physics from the University of Tokyo. In 1986, he joined the Research Institute of Polymers and Textiles. He was transferred back to Faculty of Engineering, the University of Tokyo in 1991 and promoted to full professor at Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, the University of Tokyo in 2003. He is now concurrently a program manager of ImPACT (Impulsive Paradigm Change through Disruptive Technology) program, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan. He has been researching the polymer physics and supramolecular chemistry and now is focusing on polyrotaxane, necklace-like supramolecule with topological characteristics. He invented slide-ring materials with movable cross-links by cross-linking polyrotaxane in 2000, and set up a venture company to urge the application of the slide-ring materials in 2005. He has been the author of over 300 publications including original research papers, reviews, and books, and about 70 patents. He received The Award of the Society of Polymer Science, Japan (2006). And he is currently an editor of Polymer, Elsevir.


Professor Richard A. L. Jones, FRS, University of Sheffield, UK

Founders' Prize Lecture / Title: What drives macromolecules to move?

Richard Jones is Professor of Physics and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation at the University of Sheffield. His first degree and PhD in Physics both come from Cambridge University, and following postdoctoral work at Cornell University, U.S.A., he was a lecturer at the University of Cambridge’s Cavendish Laboratory. In 1998 he moved to the University of Sheffield. He is an experimental polymer physicist who specialises in elucidating the nanoscale structure and properties of polymers and biological macromolecules at interfaces.

Richard Jones is the author of more than 160 research papers, and three books, the most recent of which is Soft Machines: nanotechnology and life, published by Oxford University Press in 2004, and intended for the general reader. He has lectured extensively to general audiences and has participated in a number of citizens panels and other deliberative forums about nanotechnology. He was the Senior Strategic Advisor for Nanotechnology for the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council from 2007 to 2009, and is currently a member of EPSRC Council.

In 2006 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society, and in 2009 he won the Tabor Medal of the Institute of Physics for contributions to nanoscience.


Professor David Morse, University of Minnesota, USA

Title: The principle of corresponding states in diblock copolymer melts

David Morse is a Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the University of Minnesota. Prior to moving to Minnesota, he received a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Pennsylvania and was a postdoctoral researcher at Exxon corporate research laboratory and the University of California Santa Barbara. He is a theoretical physicist by temperament with interests in the statistical mechanics of polymer liquids and other forms of soft matter, and has contributed to theories of surfactant systems, semi-flexible biopolymers and block copolymers.